Can I close part of my trade?

Starting in November 2018, it is now possible to manually close only part of a trade. 

You can partially close a position as long as both the part being closed and the part of the trade remaining open meet the minimum trade size requirements.

To partially close a trade, simply: 

  1. Log into your account and click on "Portfolio".
  2. Click on the instrument line you wish to close.
  3. In the next window, click on the red X, and tick "Close only part of the trade" under the trade summary.
  4. Select the USD or unit amount you wish to close.
  5. Click "Close Trade".

 

Your request will be executed during market hours.

Once you click Close Trade, only the selected amount will close and the rest will remain as an open trade in your Portfolio. The Stop Loss and Take Profit parameters of the remaining position will adjust automatically to match the new trade size. 

Please note that the closed part of the position will appear as a unique trade in your portfolio History.