股票分拆是股市上的一个常见现象,世界各地的交易所会不时出现这种活动。本指南将帮助您了解股票分拆是指什么,会如何影响到您的股票头寸,以及e投睿如何在平台上处理股票分拆。

股票分拆指的是什么?

股票分拆是一个不言自明的词汇。一家公司以某种比例将每股分拆成较小的多股股票。例如,如果一家公司宣布对一支股票进行一分五分拆,而公司当前每股股价为400美元,则该股价在分拆后将减至五分之一,即80美元。在此种活动中,每位股东当前的股票数量均按分拆比例倍数计算。

为何要分拆股票?

一家公司决定分拆股票可能有几个理由。以下是需要了解的为何分拆股票的几个要点:

 

  • 吸引散户投资者:如果个股价格过高,部分投资者将不会投资这些股票。股票分拆可以降低流通股票的价格,从而让更多投资者买入股票。但是,虽然许多机构投资方喜欢买断整支股票,但许多散户投资者仍然喜欢通过e投睿这样的创新交易和投资平台买入碎股
  • 增加流动性:市场上的股票越多,流动性的潜力就越大。更多股票可能意味着更多交易和更多资金转手。
  • 心理价位:分析师通常认为某支股票“估值过高”,这意味着其当前的价格代表着市场的情绪,而非其实际价值。分拆股票可以大幅降低股价,从而带来股票价格更符合实际情况的心理效应。
  • 何时分拆股票? 这一点没有固定的标准。有些公司每几年分拆一次,但前提是股票能保持持续增长,而其他公司不分拆股票,无论股价如何攀升。在时间方面,公司通常会在公告公布和实际分拆之间至少进行几周的交易。

Why do Stocks Split?

一支股票可以分拆多少次?

理论上可以进行无限次。公司可以按照自己的意愿多次分拆股票。例如,1987年-2003年期间,科技业巨头微软分拆其股票九次。但是,由于涉及到很多审批流程,企业很可能只会在对其业务来说是一个很好和及时决定的情况下分拆股票。

How many Times can a Stock Split?

股价和股指

有时,股票分拆会影响到整个股指。例如,DJ30指数的权重是根据股价计算而成。这意味着如果一支股票分拆,其在指数中的比例份额将大幅降低。例如,苹果公司在2020年分拆股票,使其从DJ30的最高权重股降至第16位。

Apple stock split

股票分拆对股价的影响如何?

当然,没人能保证股票分拆的结果。每支股票的价值都被分拆,但公司的总市值仍保持不变。但是,纵观整个股市历史,股票分拆通常都有利于分拆公司,至少在短期内如此。

根据Bespoke Investment Group的数据, 2015年至2020年期间,宣布分拆的公司股价在公布分拆的时间和分拆实施时间之间平均上涨了2.3%。此外,在此期间,这些股票中有近70%跑赢标普500指数。虽然在分拆后平均股价也立即下跌0.3%,但在接下来的一年中,这些公司的平均涨幅为9.8%。

尽管如此,我们仍然务必要注意到,有许多因素可能影响一支股票的价格,而分拆一支股票的决定可能与其他因素相吻合,而这些因素可能会带动股价上涨。所以,虽然过往的表现不错,但可能不是可以依赖的指标。

反向股票分拆指的是什么?

反向股票分拆与股票分拆相反。在反向分拆中,公司合并股票,从而减少股票总数。例如,如果某家公司宣布一分四反向分拆,而目前股价为50美元,则新的股价将为200美元,持有八股的股东现在只拥有两股。

What is a Reverse Stock Split?

反向股票分拆会对交易者和投资者带来怎样的影响?

与普通股票分拆(股票数量只需乘以分拆比例)不同,反向分拆可能会让股东持有碎股。例如,如果某一股东持有五股,而反向股票分拆是一分四,则该股东现在将拥有1.25股。在这种情况下,大多数公司仅仅清算碎股,并向股东提供现金差额。但是,在e投睿,如果出现这种情况,仓位将不会受到影响,因为e投睿允许股东持有碎股。

e投睿上股票分拆的工作原理是什么?

e投睿拥有数量庞大的交易者和投资者,他们使用平台以零佣金进行股票投资。由于拥有如此庞大的股票,e投睿对股票分拆并不陌生,而且在过去进行过交易。

当出现这种股市活动时,e投睿将创建一个无缝流程,将分拆比例应用于所有相关数据。此变更将应用于股票总数量以及平均或当前股价。但是,仓位的总价值不会改变。

如果出现反向股票分拆,这意味着以前完全由整股股票组成的仓位现在可能带有碎股。但是,仓位的总价值不会因为分拆而改变。

e投睿可能会提前与用户沟通,让大家知道即将实施分拆,以及告知是否需要用户进行操作——但估计不太可能需要任何操作。

零佣金服务适用于eToro (Europe) Ltd.、eToro (UK) Ltd.和eToro AUS Capital Limited (AFSL 491139)。

这则广告推广美国股票交易所的股票交易,仅为常规操作。股票交易服务由Gleneagle Asset Management Limited ABN 29 103 162 278,AFSL 226199运营的eToro Service (ARSN 637 489 466) 提供,并由eToro AUS Capital Limited CAR 001281634推广。所有其他股票都以衍生品和收取佣金的形式发行。

空头或杠杆股票交易不享有零佣金优惠。零佣金指建仓和平仓时未收取经纪人手续费。可能收取其他费用。如需了解其他关于费用的资料,请点击此处。您的资金有风险。

A stock split is quite a common phenomenon in markets, and occurs on various exchanges around the world and at various times. This guide will help you understand what stock splits are, how they impact your stock positions, and how eToro handles them on the platform.

What is a Stock Split?

A stock split is a pretty self-explanatory term. A company splits its individual shares into smaller pieces at a certain split ratio. For example, if a company announces a five-for-one stock split, and each current company stock is valued at $400, then the share price would drop to a fifth of that, or $80, after the split. During such an event, each shareholder’s current number of stocks is multiplied, based on the split ratio.

Why do Stocks Split?

There are several reasons why a company would decide on a stock split. Here are a few points to know about the reasons for stocks splitting:

  • Attracting retail investors: Some investors would rather not invest in certain stocks if the individual share price is too high. Carrying out a split would lower the price of circulating shares, thus, enabling more investors to buy stocks. However, while many institutional investors still exclusively buy whole shares, many retail investors opt to buy fractional shares through innovative trading and investing platforms, such as eToro. 
  • Greater liquidity: The larger the number of shares that exist in the market, the greater the potential for liquidity. More shares can mean more transactions and more money changing hands.
  • Psychological pricing: Analysts often say a certain stock is “overvalued,” meaning, its current price represents the sentiment in the market, rather than its actual worth. Splitting a stock reduces its price significantly, thereby providing the psychological effect that the share price is more realistic.
  • When does a stock split? There is no fixed formula. Some companies split their stock price every few years, providing they show constant growth, while others refuse to split their shares, no matter how high the price of each individual stock climbs. When it comes to timing, companies will usually allow at least a few weeks between the announcement and the actual split.

Why do Stocks Split?

How many Times can a Stock Split?

Theoretically, infinitely. Companies can split their stocks as many times as they wish. For example, between 1987–2003, tech giant Microsoft split its stock nine times. However, since there is paperwork and bureaucracy involved, companies will most likely only split stocks when they feel it is a good and timely decision for their business.

How many Times can a Stock Split?

Share Prices and Indices

Sometimes a stock split can influence an entire index. For example, the weighting within the DJ30 index is calculated based on share price. This means that if a stock splits, its proportional part of the index will diminish significantly. For example, Apple’s 2020 stock split changed it from being the top weighted stock within the DJ30 all the way down to number 16.

Apple stock split

How does a Stock Split Impact Share Price?

Naturally, there is no guaranteed outcome for a stock split. The value of each individual share is split, but the overall market cap of the company stays the same. However, throughout history, stock splits have usually been in favour of the splitting company, at least in the short term.

According to Bespoke Investment Group, between 2015–2020, the average price changes for stocks of companies that announced splits has been an additional 2.3% from the time the split was announced until the time it took place. Moreover, nearly 70% of these stocks outperformed the S&P 500 index during that time. While the average stock also fell 0.3% immediately after the split, over the following year, these companies gained an average of 9.8%.

Despite the above, it is important to note that there are numerous factors that can impact a stock’s price, and the decision to split a stock may coincide with other factors that can potentially drive a stock’s price higher. Therefore, as positive as this past performance is, it may not be a reliable indicator.

What is a Reverse Stock Split?

A reverse stock split is the opposite of a stock split. In a reverse split, the company consolidates stocks, reducing the overall number of stocks. For example, if a certain company announces a four-for-one reverse split, and each share is currently worth $50, the new share price would be $200 and a shareholder that has eight shares would now have two.

What is a Reverse Stock Split?

How does a Reverse Stock Split Affect Traders and Investors?

Unlike a normal stock split, in which the number of shares is simply multiplied by the split ratio, a reverse split could leave a shareholder with fractional shares. For example, if a certain shareholder has five shares, and the reverse stock split is four-for-one, they will end up with 1.25 shares. In this case, most companies would simply liquidate the fractional share and give the shareholders the difference in cash. However, on eToro, if such an event were to occur, positions would not be affected, since eToro enables fractional stock ownership.

How do Stock Splits work on eToro?

eToro is home to numerous traders and investors who use the platform to invest in stocks with 0% commission. Since it has such a large stock offering, eToro is no stranger to stock splits, and has handled them in the past.

When such a market event occurs, eToro creates a seamless process of applying the split ratio to all related figures. The change will be applied to the total unit count and the average or current price. However, the value of each position will not change.

If a reverse stock split occurs, this means that a position that was previously composed entirely of whole shares could potentially now have fractional shares. However, the overall value of the position will not change due to the split.

eToro may communicate with its users ahead of time, letting them know of an impending split and if  any action is required on their part — although it is highly unlikely that there will be.


This information is for educational purposes only and should not be taken as investment advice, personal recommendation, or an offer of, or solicitation to buy or sell, any financial instruments. This material has been prepared without having regard to any particular investment objectives or financial situation and has not been prepared in accordance with the legal and regulatory requirements to promote independent research. Any references to past performance of a financial instrument, index or a packaged investment product are not, and should not be taken as a reliable indicator of future results. eToro makes no representation and assumes no liability as to the accuracy or completeness of the content of this guide. Make sure you understand the risks involved in trading before committing any capital. Never risk more than you are prepared to lose.